2015 Through My Eyes: Mathias Grassow

DSC02112

Our next guest is a master of drone and musical spirituality, for me one of the most important musicians ever. No toher words are necessary. Mathias Grassow.

Tell us your way for a succesful or happy life. Do you think that man is able to live free from religion? What do you think is the meaning of our existence?

I’m not in a happy state yet so it’s really difficult to give tips for successful life and happiness. I feel much in motion for the whole mankind, hard things in changing life aims and virtues. We need a spiritual renewal far away from esoteric rubbish and twilight gurus or a new messiahs.

Onne way to get into a more sensitive life with others and our planet could be a denominationless language like music. I hope to give the world some ideas with my music.

How would you sum up your musical activity in 2015?

NOTHING. I totally calmed down with compositions and making music. After many years with 100s of CD’s I now search for a renewal too, by listening and watching inside, an invocation. This year I ‘only’ organized my HDDs and computers, my backcatalogue , some releases and re-releases and so on. I composed nothing new this year.

How are you going to spend the upcoming holiday season?

Oh, I have a principal work, a ‘normal’ job which keeps me in stress every year’s end. So I don’t like Christmas and end of December.

It’s meaningless for me; a huge bow down to all the consumer insanity in these times. The Christmas event is the contrary of spiritual renewal, I mentioned above.

mathias_grassow

Is there any film / book / theatrical play / exhibition / computer game which made a particular impression on you in 2015?

Hmm: Film: Interstellar – one of the best movies I ever have seen! Book: Nothing special, I don’t read much books these days.

Exhibition: Nothing special either, except the Monet exhibition in Frankfurt. No computer games; I don’t play for years.

Did this year change you in any way, changed your perception of the world, perhaps opened your eyes on something?

Yes, massively. I found my personal spiritual teacher and this is the most and deepest challenge of my life.

Any moment of 2015 you’ll remember on your death bed?

Each day. Not because of fear or illness – I’m in good condition so far, but I like to teach myself to be ready every moment to leave this world of illusions.

Your predictions for the world (in the political and cultural context) for 2016?

LOVE – only LOVE. That’s the only way to get out of all the illusions and lies we have built around our hearts. If you ask me what sometimes will be my legacy: it will be love to everyone, everbody and – that’s the most difficult challenge – to myself. A very simple and often told story through centuries, but the one and only truth which can face earth’s abysses.

Your personal plans, hopes, expectations for 2016?

Some new music of course, from inside my deepest heart, holidays (!), more insights, love, peace, friends and the marriage between me and my beloved wife Conny, which is my personal light at the end of this world.

Love

Mathias Grassow Website
Mathias Grassow Bandcamp

Leave a comment