2015 Through My Eyes: Nicolas Horvath

nicolas_horvath

Today someone quite different than our regular guests, industrial and ambient sculptors or other audio expierimenters. Nicolas Horvath is a French virtuoso pianist. As Frédérick Martin’s biography note says: “holder of a number of awards, like the First Prize of the Scriabin and the Luigi Nono International Competitions, he frequently organizes events and concerts of unusual length, sometimes over twelve hours, such as Philip Glass complete piano music or Erik Satie’s Vexations.”

Tell us your way for a succesful or happy life. Do you think that man is able to live free from religion? What do you think is the meaning of our existence?

Unfortunately no secret: work work work. Never look back, never look down on your dreams and never stop to have crazy projects. Maybe you won’t be able to realise them, but if you are very honest with yourself and your Art, the road to it will bring you much more that you could believe and from time to time you can even achieve goals that are way higher than your aim previously was. Happy life? Well, I have no clue for that. Maybe luck ? Or maybe I’m too young to hope having something like that. Too much work to do.

Well, yes of course men can be free of religion, as they can be also free of love, or Art … Religion does matter enormously, but it really depends what you do with it. It can be an excuse for your madness, as it can be an incredible fuel for transcendence. It brings hope … but don’t expect an old guy with a big beard that with a finger touch will erase all your pain! The solution is yourself.

I would love to know the meaning of our existence. First of all we respond to our primal instinct: making the human race perpetuate. That allows us to open the door to everything. I’m channeling my existence through Art in all its forms, with few limits and a lot of curiosity

How would you sum up your musical activity in 2015?

Extremely dense, working on all the forthcoming releases, the Glass , the Satie , my own music. Also discovering new shores and new composers, the concerts also, discovering new audiences.

How are you going to spend the upcoming holiday season?

Well, very simply: practising! I have some great concerts coming and I want to be top ready. There are great new pieces and new repertories as well. Also doing editing and writing booklets; not very sexy, but on the other hand very exciting. Thank to all that I’m really able to share my passion to the maximum.

Is there any film / book / theatrical play / exhibition / computer game which made a particular impression on you in 2015?

The Chagall at Paris Philharmony;
Hokusai in Grand Palais;
Osiris and the Engulfed Mysterium at Arab Institute;
The wonderful States of Grace video Exhibition by Laurent Fiévet;

Well, as a crazy fan, I’m really looking forward the new Star Wars !!!

Did this year change you in any way, changed your perception of the world, perhaps opened your eyes on something?

Well, this had been a very frustrating year. Projects’ delays (like it always happens), some important events cancelled or postponed. Also I had to face many unpredictable changes and some twists that I was totally unable to control.

But to be able to answer you very accurately, I’ll use the wonderful Alfred de Musset verses (from “A Night in May”):

“What sorrow is it that your youth suffers?
Let it grow, this holy wound
That the black angels have given your heart
Nothing makes us so great as a great sorrow
But, for it to touch you, do not believe, O poet
That your voice here below must keep mute.
The most hopeless songs are the most beautiful
And I know the pure immortals sob.
(…)
Poet, it is thus that great poets are made.
They leave those who live once to make themselves happy
But the generous dishes served at their feasts
Are in the main like those of the pelicans.
When they speak thus of false hopes
Of sadness and oblivion, love and misfortune
This isn’t a reason to speed the heart
Their speeches are like sword-blades
They trace dazzling circles in the air
But there always hang some drips of blood.”

Any moment of 2015 you’ll remember on your death bed?

My recital at the Carnegie Hall in New York, after my USA premiere. When I finished my recital there, well I knew it was a Sold Out concert already, but what I saw… when I came back from backstage to bow… the whole hall was doing a standing ovation! I simply couldn’t believe it, it was way way beyond any of my craziest dreams!

The recital I made for the Closing Day of the 2015 Milan World Expo was also a huge success. I was invited by the Estonian Pavillon. This is something I would never even dare to dream off!

Your predictions for the world (in the political and cultural context) for 2016?

Well, unfortunately more terrorist attacks, more ISIS , less liberty in France. Less money for the culture too. Luckily I depend so little on government funding that it won’t bother me too much, but it is sad to see festival’ cancellations etc.

For the culture, let’s hope there would be very exciting new things, new music and new composers! That they will keep their flame going, as they really enlight us, simple mortals.

Your personal plans, hopes, expectations for 2016?

First: not to make the same mistakes I made in the past and in 2015, that would be great already! Continue to evolve, keeping the tracks with my crazy projects and being able to serve the Music as well as possible. And of course, continue sharing my love of music to the maximum.

Nicolas Horvath’ website

Leave a Reply

