2014 Through My Eyes: James Plotkin

james_plotkin

Khanate, Lotus Eaters, Namanax, a bunch of other projects plus recordings under his own name alone or collaborating with other artists … Yes, James Plotkin is a busy man as he’s also responsible for mastering of hundreds of metal/industrial/experimental albums. Yet he found few minutes for us – here’s James’ thoughts on 2014

How would you summarize this past year on an artistic and personal level?

I’ve dedicated most of my time to technical work for other artists, this past year. I can’t take that for granted, and I enjoy most of the music I work on, so I don’t mind taking a break from composing and recording my own material. There’s a few projects I’d like to try and get started on, I just need some spare time and motivation.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

Death Waltz’s Record Store Day re-issue of Nico Fidenco’s “Emanuelle Perche’ Violenza Alle Donne? aka The Violation Of Emanuelle.” It keeps rotating with a handful of other OST reissues. Mondo’s vinyl issue of The Visitor gets a lot of airplay as well. Musically and aesthetically, it’s just an amazing album.

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

I haven’t been to many shows in 2014, but Tobacco and Demon Queen (Underground Arts, Philadelphia) was a definite highlight. You never know what to expect with electronic live acts. They sort of nailed the live electronic experience, in my eyes. Plenty of live instrumentation, good sound, sleazy visuals, etc. I nearly missed it, which would have been a loss.

What was the best non-music related cultural experience you’ve had?

Some hamburger festival in Hamburg, PA. There’s something beautiful about anything that reveals, without a sliver of a doubt, what a trainwreck the USA is.

Was there an event within this past year that has significantly influenced your philosophy and outlook on life, or your perception of the world around you? For instance some specific place you visited, people you met and so on?

No revelations in 2014. Nothing heavy. I did learn that there’s a reason most of the elderly aren’t afraid of death.

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

Bo Dallas’ foot injury, Aphex Twin’s SYRO, and popular society in general.

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

No plans, no expectations for the next year, but I do hope it’s a good one full of good things. If I’m still here in 2016, it will have been great. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment