2014 Through My Eyes: Stig Berg [R|A|A|N / Moth Electret]

moth

If you’d ask me about my favourite dark ambient discs of all times, R|A|A|N’ “The Nacrasti” would definitely be one of them. Stig Berg was (well, still is as it seems the project will be resurrected) its mastermind. He’s also responsible for a very interesting venture called Moth Electret. Here’s year 2014 in the eyes of Stig Berg.

How would you summarize this past year on an artistic and personal level?

A year of change, it’s been productive both personally and artistically. I have put the burning man thing on ice for a while which has allowed much more space for other artistic and personal activities. Sailing, travel, finishing up the dawngazer album by moth electret. I am very pleased with how it came out. I got to explore areas I haven’t approached before which is exciting from a growth perspective.

Some beautiful souls have convinced me to approach the world of r|a|a|n again. This dilate my pupils…

I have been on a path to do more music with hardware too… Less poking around inside a computer, this gives me more immediacy which I really crave.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

I can’t answer that question. There is certainly not one. In no particular order stuff from linea aspera, haxan cloak, lussuria, demdike stare – ‘elemental’, vatican shadow , liar – ‘undance’ and ‘strange love’. HTRK – ‘work(work work)’, some of LA vampires stuff, november növelet. tropic of cancer, theologian, pharmakon, andy stott, necro deathmort, cut hands, ben frost, black rain’s ‘dark pool’, painted caves… probably others I forget. it’s been a fantastic year in new electronic music.

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

I don’t go to gigs much, more to “underground” art happenings here in the San Francisco area. Swans was a proper gig however and I liked that. I accidentally ended up seeing a band called pinkish black (a doom band), they were great live, but it didn’t translate to record. They warmed up for goblin of all things, which was weird and funny.

What was the best non-music related cultural experience you’ve had?

Cultural… I was in Belize recently. I got to skipper an old colorful wooden sail boat around an island and into the sunset. Night sailing in the western Caribbean with a Mayan dude as pirate like captain was rather special. We were all rummed to the gills. ‘

Was there an event within this past year that has significantly influenced your philosophy and outlook on life, or your perception of the world around you? For instance some specific place you visited, people you met and so on?

Nope.

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

I have to dig now. This isn’t specific to 2014, but 2014 put it firmly on my radar: Seeing how hard it is to escape the dunning-kruger effect. It’s easier to observe in friends of course but hard to do much about. …And what appears to be an onsloughs of pseudoscience and fake news. It’s seems to have gotten worse or I just simply pay more attention. I guess this is more scary than disappointing.

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

Even though I know where I am going I don’t like to talk about the future. I guess I am superstitious. Man plans, God laughs you know. Well how about this; … I plan on spending more time on me and my peeps. Can I learn to weld? More sailing sounds nice, complete a moth electret ep eventually, I hope I get to do a raan collaboration too, which I am excited about…

Official site

Leave a Reply

