Grey Malkin Mix for Santa Sangre

Photography by Grey Malkin for TSL

We’re happy to present you a special mixtape compiled exclusively for us by Grey Malkin (The Hare And The Moon). Grey presents some of his favourite songs here and explains his choices below. Hope you’ll enjoy as much as we do.

Special thanks goes to our friend, Neddal Ayad for the idea and making this done.

1. Lubos Fiser – The Magic Yard (from The Valerie And her Week Of Wonders’ OST)

‘One of my all time favourite pieces of music from my favourite soundtrack to one of my favourite films. Baroque, spectral , otherworldly…’The Magic Yard’ exists out of time and place in its own haunted universe.’

2. Mellow Candle – Sheep Season

‘Taken from the truly legendary acid folk opus ‘Swaddling Songs’, this album greatly influenced me to begin making music myself and I have been extremely blessed to have worked with Mellow Candle vocalist Alison O’Donnell on a number of occasions.’

3. Gheorghe Zamfir – The Ascent Of The Rock (from the Picnic At Hanging Rock OST)

‘Another favourite soundtrack and film. Somehow Zamfir manages to capture the delerious strangeness of the movie and also creates a stand alone masterpiece in his soundtrack (even if it does sound suspiciously similar to Hawkwind’s ‘Hall Of The Mountain Grill’!)’

4. Steeleye Span – Cam’ Ye O’er Frae France

‘On the surface this sounds like a trad folk offering but listen closely to the discordant sheet metal guitar and the ominous drone that underpins the song. Steeleye were always much darker than novelty hits like ‘All Around My Hat’ suggested they were. And a good thing too.’

5. Scott Walker – Archangel

‘The Great God Scott with a suitably grandiose and melancholic mini symphony of lost dreams and despair. Apocalyptic and also deeply beautiful, there is little around to match his early albums.’

6. Anita Lane – The World’s A Girl

Undersung and often neglected, Anita Lane’s recordings should be held on a pedestal alongside those of her collaborators Nick Cave, Blixa Bargeld and Barry Adamson. Windswept and storm torn genius.’

7. Anna Von Hausswolff – Pomperipossa

‘A recent discovery but I haven’t been able to stop listening to her ‘The Miraculous’ since I picked it up. Sacred and loud, this feels like the perfect marriage of Nico and Swans which is a serious recommendation. Live she is on another level also.’

8. Coil – The Lost Rivers Of London

‘Coil are, in my opinion, the most important band that have ever existed. Nothing soundtracks my dark, little world like they do. A rarer track from a psych compilation, ‘The Lost Rivers Of London” takes notions of psychogeography to an altogether more genuinely spooked and demented liminal space.’

9. Dr Carlson Albion – Reynardine

‘Or Dylan Carlson from Earth in his folk noise alter ego. I love Earth, there is something of traditional folk in their minimal, repetitive and layering song structures so it makes perfect sense that Carlson would pursue this notion further. And very fine it is too.’

10. Einsturzende Neubuaten – Haus Der Luege

‘An old favourite, though I could have chosen any number of Neubauten songs. A perpetual influence on my own material and a cathartic explosion of sheer noise and simultaneous control. Plus, who doesn’t want to be Blixa Bargeld?’

11. Fairport Convention – The Bonny Black Hare

‘I’m not overly keen on Fairport post Sandy Denny – too many jigs and reels for my liking. However, ‘The Bonny Black Hare’ somehow maintains a deeply sinister undercurrent and tension that I’m not altogether convinced the band intended it to. Never mind, it is our gain!’

12. George Auric – O Willow Waly (from The Innocents OST)

‘Another favourite film and slice of soundtrack, ‘O Willow Waly’ haunted me from the minute I heard it and I have mercilessly tried to shoehorn it into several of my own pieces ever since. If you haven’t seen the film then do so immediately but wait till nightfall and ensure that you watch this on your own. Then never sleep again.’

13. Foetus – Halloween – Turbulence

‘I enjoy the fact that Foetus gleefully makes music that sounds not unlike a gunship coming crashing through your wall whilst listening. Is it over the top enough, could he add more? And so he does. Yet his compositions are always meticulously constructed and paced. He is the master and we are all just students.’

14. Goblin – Suspiria

‘Not a great deal needs said about this cinematic and deeply disturbing soundtrack. It is arguably better than the film itself (which I do rate highly) and sounds utterly unlike anything else, except most probably the house band in your worst nightmares.’

15. MacGillivray – Wolf Skinner Song

‘Seeing MacGillivray play her autoharp through a distortion pedal and spit out the words to this heartbreakingly brutal track is, for me, one of the most memorable live performances I have ever witnessed. A true artist, if you haven’t already then seek out her music. All of it.’

16. Swans – Better Than You

‘Apparently Gira hates this period of Swans, however the White Light/ Love of Life era remains my favourite and the first Swans I came across. Both nuanced and epic, the importance of Jarboe in the line up was never clearer. I can find some of Swans more recent work a bit stodgy, a little ‘meat and potatoes’ whereas this has detail, definition and drama.’

17. Graeme Miller & Steve Shill – Midwinter Rites (from the TV series ‘The Moomins’)

‘Taken from the gentle yet odd, Scandic children’s TV show ‘The Moomins’ this track sounds not unlike some kind of demented black magic ritual and is properly unsettling. Perhaps there was a darker side to the Moomins, did we ever find out how they ensured their harvests were plentiful? I suspect terrible sacrifice.’

18. Charles Vaughan – Do You Choose To Forget

‘Minimal, filled with ghosts and replete with an electronic dread that lingers long after the song has finished’.

19. The Legendary Pink Dots – Pennies For Heaven

‘A perennial favourite of mine, again I could have chosen any LPD track really as I genuinely love everything I have heard of theirs. However ‘The Maria Dimension’ (from which this track is taken) feels like a perfect distillation of their gothic cosmicness.’

20. Mary Hopkin -Lord Of The Reedy River

‘One of the eeriest things I think I’ve ever heard, I find this both disquieting and chillingly beautiful. It also sounds like it exists out of all time or era.Those were the days indeed.’

Leave a Reply

