Santa Sangre Playlist: The first song you’d play for your child

kid_playlist

The idea is simple. We asked several artists to choose ten songs for ten different situations or activities (one song for each topic). This is the third playlist: The first song you’d play for your child. Below you’ll find the description which artist has picked which song.

Hakan Paulsson [Sanctum]: Boys Next Door – Shivers

Jana Komaritsa[Darkrad]: Depeche Mode – Little 15

Jean-Yves Millet [Cent Ans De Solitude]: Einstürzende Neubauten – Alles

Edoardo Dionea Cicconi [Mantic]: Rolling Stones – Heaven

Pepijn Caudron [Kreng]: Sparklehorse – It’s A Wonderful Life

Tekla Mrozowicka [cetieu]: Rabih Abou-Khalil – Puppet Master

Manabu Hiramoto [Shinkiro]: Jackson Browne – Sky Blue and Black

Russell Kent [Noothgrush/Alaric/ex-Big City Orchestra]: The Beatles – Dear Prudence

Stephen Burroughs [Tunnels Of Ah]: Edison Lighthouse – Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes)

Frederic D. Oberland [Oiseaux-Tempete]: Robert Wyatt – Little Child; “Father & son dialog from an angel with broken wings.”

Mark Spybey [Dead Voices On Air]: This Heat – Health And Efficiency; “I don’t have a child nor want one particularly. If I did I’d want to choose a song that would instruct her or indeed him in everything that is fabulous about human nature and the world we live in. It would have to be “Health and Efficiency” by This Heat. I would want the infant to listen to the first minute of this song on endless repeat (as I have for the past 35 years or so) and marvel (as I still do) at Charles Hayward’s drumming, especially when he breaks out after the “here’s a song about the sunshine dedicated to the sunshine,” line.”

Lloyd James [Naevus]: The Monkees – Daydream Believer

Maciek Frett [Job Karma]: Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band – Jollity Farm

Nina Kernicke [Allseits]: The Verve – Slide Away; “I don`t have children, but maybe this one”

Jan Roger Pettersen [Svartsinn]: Anathema – Dreaming Light; “Quite a hard one this. I think it requires being in that life situation. But I’m gonna go with “Dreaming Light” by Anathema.”

Davide Borghi [Albireon]: Sonne Hagal – Eismhad

Daina Dieva: Sepultura – Attitude; “Ain’t planning to have, but for a child of a friend I would play this one”

Alice Kundalini [She Spread Sorrow]: Britney Spears – Everytime

Peter Andersson [Deutsch Nepal]: Swans – Children Of God

Grey Malkin [The Hare And The Moon]: Dead Can Dance – The Host of Seraphim; “Were I to have such a thing (it’s more likely to be the first song I’d play to my cat) I might choose Dead Can Dance’s ‘The Host of Seraphim’. Why not introduce a child to the overwhelming beauty and unspeakable sadness of the world right from the beginning? Plus he/she would grow up to have immense good taste as well as probably a penchant for dark clothing.”

Simon Heath [Atrium Carceri]: Tipper – Illabye

Rudiger [Apoptose]: Apoptose – Berkanas Traum; “This song is actually a lullaby for my youngest daughter.”

Stefano Musso [Alio Die]: Alio Die – Brace di Transformazione; “I know that more than a child is born with the music of “Il Tempo Magico Di Saturnia Pavonia””

Robin Storey [Rapoon]: Benedictus Misa Luba – 1965 Congolese Mass; “Just beautiful…”

Cinder[Cindytalk]: Sun Ra – Heliocentric; [The musician picked both volumes of “The Heliocentric Worlds Of Sun Ra”, but we present one track from vol. 1 – stark]

Simone Salvatori [Spiritual Front]: Maurice Ravel – Bolero; “One the best pieces of art ever”

Simon Balestrazzi: György Ligeti – Cello Concerto; “Everything I would like to teach a young kid can be found in this composition.”

Nicolas Horvath: Jan Sebastian Bach – Die Kunst Der Fugue

Tor Lundvall: Brian Eno – Thursday Afternoon; “I don’t have children, but if I did, the song (and album) would be Brian Eno’s “Thursday Afternoon””

Mathias Grassow: -; “I don’t remember… Some children lullabies from several artists”
Erik Jarl: -; “I won’t have a child, therefore I make no choice”
Leo [Niedowierzanie]: -; “Nothing ! I am totally against the concept of “children””
James Plotkin: -; “The sound of an abortion.”

One response to “Santa Sangre Playlist: The first song you’d play for your child

Leave a Reply

