2015 Through My Eyes: Simon Balestrazzi

simon_balestrazzi

You surely know Simon from such projects as T.A.C., Candor Chasma, Dream Weapon Ritual and several others plus his solo works. We invite you to read our short interview with Simon about his thoughts on 2015.

Tell us your way for a successful or happy life. Do you think that man is able to live free from religion? What do you think is the meaning of our existence?

Never loose the ability to analyze and research reality, or maya for that matter, and beyond. That is my zero point. Of course mankind is able to live free from religion and it should. Any organized religion is like self mutilation to me. Each man or woman should search for his very own deity. And then existence/reality/maya/whatever, well is not such an important question since there’s no answer. But don’t settle with a simplistic “here and now”, live how you wish but be conscious about everything around you.

How would you sum up your musical activity in 2015?

It’s been a busy year. Sometimes I’m even surprised how I do not feel empty after all those years of music making. I don’t know how it comes but it’s a sort of uncontrollable urge. No, not of the Devo’s variety… I’m not touring anymore (mostly because no one ask me to – don’t ask me why – maybe because I live on an island…), but did several gigs, mostly solo, around Italy and I played again on the LEM festival in Barcelona where I split stage with Das Synthetische Mischewebe, and it was cool. And I’ve released several stuff solo and with other bands. All of them very satisfying, which is not always the case. And I started AZOTH, my small label. Something very personal, almost a bet or a game, but you can never tell.

How are you going to spend the upcoming holiday season?

Going to Parma, my hometown, to visit my relatives, sleeping (at last) and making plans for the future.

Is there any film / book / theatrical play / exhibition / computer game which made a particular impression on you in 2015?

I received as a gift from a good friend of mine, some fine silk-screen prints by Trevor Brown. They really impressed me. They are somehow inspired by Ballard’s “Crash” which is one of my favorite novels ever and and everlasting source of inspiration.

Did this year change you in any way, changed your perception of the world, perhaps opened your eyes on something?

No, actually it didn’t.

Any moment of 2015 you’ll remember on your death bed?

I hope that the dreadful instant is so far ahead that anything happened in 2015 will already be vanished in a blurred forgotten past when it happens.

Your predictions for the world (in the political and cultural context) for 2016?

New wars are knocking at our doors, or so it seems. Which is quite sad. I really try hard to be optimistic but…

Your personal plans, hopes, expectations for 2016?

I’m planning to complete my new small facility here in Cagliari. Something it’s been taking too long and too much energy. But, you know, it is a nice recording studio on top of a small hill in the surroundings of Cagliari, pointing to the sea and the city’s skyline, a perfect playground for me, not only a commercial business. Also I’ll work on some new projects in solo and with several of my projects/bands, Expect soon new works from Candor Chasma, Dream Weapon Ritual, A Sphere Of Green and Hidden Reverse. Plus something which is still a secret… Hopes? The disappearing of this whole “nostalgia” thing, or “retromania”, as Simon Reynolds named it. I wish people, music, will get to aim to some sort of future again…

Simon Balestrazzi website

Leave a Reply

