2015 Through My Eyes: Tor Lundvall

tor_lundvall1

Our next guest is Tor Lundvall, a painter and a musician… actually I’m not sure if a further introduction is necessary in this case as most of you know or should know this extraordinary artist.

Tell us your way for a successful or happy life. Do you think that man is able to live free from religion? What do you think is the meaning of our existence?

I follow my own path and I steer clear of the things that disturb my soul. My happiest moments have been those when I’m alone in Nature, painting or recording music, laughing with an old friend or spending time with my dog. I can only speak for myself regarding religion which serves no purpose for me, however I couldn’t survive without my spiritual connection with Nature. At the moment, I cannot see any meaning to our existence apart from what we make of it, and brief glimpses of something greater. In that rare state of heightened awareness, I feel in tune with the deeper mysteries of the universe, even if I cannot fully grasp what they are.

How would you sum up your musical activity in 2015?

I’m very proud of an album I recorded back in January entitled “The Violet-Blue House”. I re-discovered the title in one of my old high school notebooks from 1985. The second half of the album consists of two long-form pieces, which is rare for me. Hopefully this album will see a release date in 2016.

How are you going to spend the upcoming holiday season?

I’m spending Christmas with family and New Year’s Eve with an old friend in Rhinebeck, New York.

Is there any film / book / theatrical play / exhibition / computer game which made a particular impression on you in 2015?

None to speak of, however my discovery of the Benoît Pioulard album “Sonnet” was a big musical highlight for me this year. Tom is so young (at least compared to me) and his refreshing, beautiful album gives me hope for the future of ambient / experimental music.

tor_lundvall2

Did this year change you in any way, changed your perception of the world, perhaps opened your eyes on something?

The death of my father in May altered my perceptions entirely – or rather, it confirmed some of my worst suspicions about human nature. The ugliness and indifference I encountered far outweighed the good, but at least the good exists, however small it may be. Perhaps there is more goodness in people than I’m perceiving in my current state of mind, which isn’t very positive right now.

Any moment of 2015 you’ll remember on your death bed?

During those dark nights back in May, I started hallucinating due to lack of sleep and prolonged stress. In that state, I saw demons staring from the wooden beams in the ceiling of my parent’s house. I also became very aware of the stark terror of the void. Perhaps these comforting visions will pay me a visit again before I take the final plunge.

Your predictions for the world (in the political and cultural context) for 2016?

I could care less about politics and the reckless egotists who continue to steer the world into ruin. As for culture, I can only hope that something noble will survive in the days to come. People seem more preoccupied with social media and upgrading the electronic devices they stare into without end.

Your personal plans, hopes, expectations for 2016?

I’m praying for a quiet year.

Tor Lundvall website

Leave a Reply

