2015 Through My Eyes: Julian Percy [Last Dominion Lost /NK]

ldl

Our next “through my eyes” guest is Julian Percy a co-founder of NK, the organization dedicated to sound arts and a member of Last Dominion Lost, an amazing industrial project which has just released an album “Snowdrops from a Curates Garden” and basically speaking crushed the audience during this year’s Wroclaw Industrial Festival.

Tell us your way for a succesful or happy life. Do you think that man is able to live free from religion? What do you think is the meaning of our existence?

I was brought up as an atheist, but had values instilled through my life observations to take the parts from facets of all religions that I feel apply to myself. The ritual aspects of religions feature strongly in my musical output. I think the meaning of existence is the journey of discovery throughout your life experience and perhaps in the passage of death things become more clear and you can see where there is true meaning and integrity in life throughout the passage of time.

How would you sum up your musical activity in 2015?

I have played many underground venues this year as well as some larger festivals. It has been a fulfilling year in the context of musical progression. My main project Last Dominion Lost released a live album “Snowdrops from a Curates Garden” as a precursor from last years album “Towers of Silence”. I also played many improvised concerts with musicians from all over the world.

How are you going to spend the upcoming holiday season?

I plan to spend time working on the next Last Dominion Lost album, finishing the transition of the art space NK Projekt Berlin where I work from a venue into purely studio space and spending time with my partner.

ldl_2

Is there any film / book / theatrical play / exhibition / computer game which made a particular impression on you in 2015?

Re-reading a lot of William Gibson’s work as he has always been an inspiration left an impression on me as he always does.

Did this year change you in any way, changed your perception of the world, perhaps opened your eyes on something?

The death of one of the original members of Last Dominion Lost certainly made me re-assess the value of time with people who you have a deep musical rapport and friendship with, to utilise and appreciate the moments, anomalies and the connections that embody why we exist.

Any moment of 2015 you’ll remember on your death bed?

Swimming in the Teufelssee with my partner as the sun sets and looking up to the listening station on Teufelsberg.

Your predictions for the world (in the political and cultural context) for 2016?

The fear mongering will continue as it has throughout the ages continually now as there are advances in surveillance technology, the informed public who can read between the lies which become more complex due to the internet and social networks will remain focused in the education of humanity.

Your personal plans, hopes, expectations for 2016?

I will continue to focus on my musical projects primarily Last Dominion Lost and travel early in the year to Indonesia to absorb influence from the traditional ritual music of the areas I will be visiting.

Last Dominion Lost Bandcamp
Last Dominion Lost Facebook
NK website

Leave a Reply

