2014 Through My Eyes: Mirt

mirt2

“Musician and graphic artist. Creates solo and in collaborations, member of Brasil and The Gallowbrothers Band (formerly One Inch of Shadow). With both bands recorded 11 CDs (on labels like Last Visible Dog, Nefryt, MonotypeRec) and placed a lot of tracks on compilations all around the world. (…)”[Artist’s facebook]

How would you summarize this past year on an artistic and personal level?

The year 2013 was quite intense. Although I’ve planned a little holidays in 2014, still I’ve released few EPs, an album together with TER and another one solo based on my field recordings. After 15 years in business I’ve decided to close my cat|sun label, but I started new one – Saamleng. With TER we’ve spend a lot of time playing gigs, meeting new people – this is always good experience and great fun. There is also XAOC Devices team – together we are making modules for eurorack synths. So… it wasn’t anything like holidays really.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

Hard to point only one, I’m torn between new and old stuff. One week I’m searching for something fresh and another one I go back to things recorded in seventies or sixties. So… there was Ekoplekz, Donato Dozzy, Francis Bebey, Cul de Sac and Egg on my gramophone… Anjou – I’m addicted to music made by Mark Nelson. Lately I feel in love with The Freak Scene “Psychedelic Psoul”. Last Black To Comm album is great. The list has no end!

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

The best concert I’ve heard this year was MAAA in Warsaw CSW. Everything was perfect, the tension of whole set, visuals. I expected some noise set and it was a big surprise for me that it was so much different. Kind of post industrial, but with really fresh approach.

Was there an event within this past year that has significantly influenced your philosophy and outlook on life, or your perception of the world around you? For instance some specific place you visited, people you met and so on?

Not really, maybe because of visit in Cambodia and Bangkok – I was there at the end of 2013 and it had great impact on me. This month in Asia overshadow whole last year in my case. I’ve always loved field recordings, after this trip I’ve decided to do something more and Saamleng was born – label devoted to field recordings only. I felt there was music in every sound there, everything was much more intense.

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

I don’t have any extraodinary expectations so I’m rarely disappointed, especially with art or music. I’m not disappointed with prices of cds, music piracy, Pink Floyd’s comeback or something that didn’t happened at all. Of course lack of open minded people is always sad for me.

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

I am not planning to slow down. In January Bôłt will release my new album “Solitaire” – it is based on Arne Nordheim’s track. I’m working on reissue of “Mud, Dirt & Hiss” and “Afrikanische Volker EP”. Magda Ter is working on first solo gigs – I’m curious what she’ll do. MonotypeRec will be celebrating ten years in 2015. This is just the start.

Mirt’s Facebook

Leave a Reply

