2014 Through My Eyes: B9 InViD [Et Nihil /The Muskets / Ex-Luftwaffe]

b9

How would you summarize this past year on an artistic and personal level?

With another performance with Death in June (and Awen) as well as four vinyl/CD releases of which I am part (Morituri De Salutant Festival I, Divided we Fall, The Muskets “Allegiance to no Crown”, Awen “Grim King of the Ghosts”), it has been a tremendous year for ET NIHIL. I had the opportunity to again collaborate with Axel Menz of Hekate as well as producing new works with fellow Muskets Erin Powell, David E. Williams and Thomas Nöla.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

The piece of music I listen to most often is the 18 minute ambient soundscape “Reciful” by Of the Wand and the Moon. I don’t consider it a song per se and it possesses an almost psychedelic quality in terms of the gamut of ideas I have while listening to it. It inspired a short film that I produced and Kim Larsen was very gracious in allowing me to use an excerpt of it for the soundtrack.

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

For many years Skinny Puppy was my favorite band and I saw them again for the first time since 1992. Prior to becoming a Neofolk musician, I played in an electronic act which was an attempted, stylistic-marriage of Skinny Puppy and The Cramps (if one can image that). Although I don’t immediately plan to don fishnet shirts again, Skinny Puppy was just as brilliant a spectacle as they were twenty-two years ago.

What was the best non-music related cultural experience you’ve had?

I contacted a stop-motion animator I admire and they have been very affable, even letting me in on some secrets of their work. It now has me broadening my artistic endeavors in ways I had previously hesitated to pursue.

Was there an event within this past year that has significantly influenced your philosophy and outlook on life, or your perception of the world around you? For instance some specific place you visited people you met and so on?

While Malthusian ideas are interlaced in my work, implementing such ideas in reality has limitations. After an enlightening conversation with a new friend, I finally had the proverbial snip. I am finding myself as prideful about it as one would be doting on the accomplishments of their offspring. This resolve, combined with my age and revelations about some personal relationships has me pursing my works much more steadfastly.

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

One of my favorite films is the 80s Sci Fi epic, Robocop. Unfortunately, it was foolishly remade this year. I like Michael Keaton and appreciate his making a comeback; but I am dismayed with him for being part of this. What will they remake next? Videodrome? Oh wait…

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

Currently I am arranging some concerts in Europa (and elsewhere) with my friends in Awen and the ET NIHIL vinyl EP box set “THUS” should be released just after the beginning of the year. It promises to be a great third-year for ET NIHIL.

Thank you for the gracious inclusion.
b9

Official Facebook

http://www.facebook.com/etnihilest

Leave a Reply

