2014 Through My Eyes: Patrick Leagas [Sixth Comm]

6comm

photo by Michael Wolff

How would you summarise this past year on an artistic and personal level?

On a personal level I suppose one of contentment with being able to appear back on the music front after so many years of indifference and being away from music for most or the last decade & a half. My personal & artistic life seem to be very much entwined at the moment so it is very hard to separate the two aspects.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

There isn’t a single album as such that I can think of but certainly the 3 most played Vinyl records this last year have been Benjamin Britten & Peter Pears Folk songs 10″ vinyl from the late 1950’s The Pipe & Drums of the Scots Guards LP vinyl 1960’s , I have always been mad about Bagpipe & military music in general, the pipes & drums make my hair stand up, well it would if I had any hair ! I must have some Scottish blood in me somewhere. Lastly Black Sabbaths first album, a masterpiece in sound recording and music.

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

This last year ? I have been to few concerts this year but I guess that watching some of the supporting acts who have played with us has been a good education as to what is going on currently. I can’t think of a concert that I attended that has been particularly interesting but then over the years I have seen thousands of bands especially during the 80’s when I not only played in bands but worked in clubs as well.

What was the best non-music related cultural experience you’ve had?

It would have to be a personal and lone cultural experience I think – such as cycling to one of many ancient Mega or Neolithic sites in the UK. I like to feel history and a sense of belonging to a place , which sadly since I live in London at the moment is a very rare event for me.

Was there an event within this past year that has significantly influenced your philosophy and outlook on life, or your perception of the world around you? For instance some specific place you visited, people you met and so on?

I would say not in general no… but I did enjoy the WIF fest with regards to music. It was nice to see a diverse line up and to meet quite a few people whom I have never met before who kindly spoke to us and thanked us for playing. Nothing influences my philosophy (if I have any) or my outlook on life anymore. My life has been up & down and around in circles and back to the beginning again. Nothing surprises or shocks me in any way.

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

Finding out the price of Vodka in Poland & then only having room in our flight baggage for 3 or 4 bottles!

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

My plans are few & simple. A little more music , a few more live shows. Hopes , that my bodies internal organs function for another year . That a huge asteroid wipes out the Jerusalem and so destroys the base for the 3 big religions that have crippled the human world for the past 2000 as there seems to be no hope of them degenerating anytime soon. Thirdly that a new philosopher like Voltaire for the 21st Century will materialise but this time with a huge enlightening baton to beat some sense into all the controllers, religious , politicians, bankers, industrialists etc etc but alas it will not be so and things will continue along the same path as always. Expectations- My expectations are that there will be no asteroids & the 3 monstrous religions of the Book will continue to help to give mankind the faith to destroy and continue the cruelty of their insane and outmoded ideas and beliefs .Happy CHRISTmas & New year to you all!

Official website
Official Facebook

Leave a Reply

