2014 Through My Eyes: Yann Faussurier [Iszoloscope]

iszoloscope

“Since 1999, Iszoloscope has been pushing the abstract conceptualization of isolation and its induced altered states of consciousness into a powerful, ominous, and immersive world of dark sonic aesthetic that can be called its very own. Seamlessly bending stylistic constraints by creating a fusion of industrial, electro-acoustic, ambient, rhythmic noise, psy-trance and break-core; this artistic endeavor sets an exceptional standard in hybrid electronic music.”
[via official website]

How would you summarize this past year on an artistic and personal level?

Very difficult but overwhelmingly rewarding.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

According to my iTunes: Druid’s Curse by Loviatar is on top. Closely followed by Sick by Loss, various tracks by Orphx, Geometrical Keys by Hologram and Näo and Sonic Area and Chrysalide and.. and… and…

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

Orphx at Berghain, in Berlin. I think it was in May. Also Maschinenfest, Retox, Resistanz deserve mention

What was the best non-music related cultural experience you’ve had?

I was at the 25th anniversary event of the fall of the Berlin wall. It was very a moving experience and I am very grateful I could share this experience with so many people.

Was there an event within this past year that has significantly influenced your philosophy and outlook on life, or your perception of the world around you? For instance some specific place you visited, people you met and so on?

I moved to Europe from Canada in April on my own terms and have been living in Berlin since. It was something I have wanted to do for years and after a lot of serious setbacks, it made this ever so sweet. I’ve been fortunate enough to achieve a lot of life changing personal goals over the last year, this one being the most significant.

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

Aside for the failing health of friends and family; 2013 was such a downer for me that I can’t look at any personal event of 2014 in comparison and call them disappointing. Everything else is debatable and I’m too much of an optimist to focus on one single disappointment.

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

I hope to be able to release 4 titles this year. I didn’t have access to a studio space for a year and a half so now that I do, I feel like I have some serious catching up to do! First, I I want to finish the next Iszoloscope album before summer comes, start a new solo project and 2 other collaborations. Hopefully, there will be enough days in the year.

Official website

Leave a Reply

