2014 Through My Eyes: Mia Zabelka

mia7

Mia Zabelka is a violinist and vocalist from Vienna, with Czech and French roots, who is regarded as one of the leading 21st century proponents of what is known as experimental violin music. [via official website]

How would you summarize this past year on an artistic and personal level?

My year 2014 was absolutely great! I had very intersting gigs in UK, Canada, France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Croatia, Poland, Finland among others. I met a lot of very interesting musicians and artists, and did a lot of great projects, for example my cooperation in „medusa’s bed“ with lydia lunch and zahra mani.

Which album have you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2014)?

Well, to be honest, my own release with „Medusa’s Bed“ on Monotyperecords and the new release of norwegian duo „kÖok“.

What was the best gig you’ve attended?

Well, there were a lot of very good gigs, my solo gig at Störung Festival in Barcelona, my tour with „Medusa’s Bed“ in November, my concert with Trio Blurb feat. Maggie Nicols and John Russell at The Vortex in London, my concert with Philippe Petit at Control Club in Bucharest and my Trio Concert with Nikola Hein and Sebastian Gramss in Cologne just recently…

What was the best non-music related cultural experience you’ve had?

I really like the work of Vienna based director and choreograph Claudia Bosse and I was on some of her shows in the last year and enjoyed them very much. These were really good non musical cultural perspectives  and they are very important for my work. I get a lot of influences of them, too.

Also a great experience was the Austrian Anglo Feta Qua Qua which I co-curated with John Russell in London. This exchange between British and Austrian musicians was a great experience for me… for my own artistic perspective and growth…

What was your greatest disappointment in 2014?

My greatest disappointment is always when I met people with a lot of prejudices… in any directions… this really annoyes me and I think in our times we should already go one step ahead…

Your plans, hopes and expectations for 2015?

More peace in the world, more tolerance, less prejudices, less hate ete. These are my main wishes for 2015… And of course continuing with a lot of good concerts, album releases etc… one of the main project will be a duo concert with Pauline Oliveros at Phonofemme Festival Vienna in October 2015.

Official website

‘Project M’, Mia Zabelka, Audio Art Festival 2012 from studioFILMLOVE on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

