2013 Through My Eyes: Orryelle Defenestrate Bascule

orryelle

“A prolific visual and sonic artist, Orryelle finds drawing, painting, sculpture, theatre, photography, animation, verse, video, violin and voice effective ways of earthing magickal currents.”
[www.crossroads.wild.net.au]

How would you summarize this past year on artistic and personal level?

It was a most interesting one for me. I felt like once all the hype of the 2012 solstice dissipated there was a huge window of potential. 13 has always been a significant number for me with its lunar and arachnean aspects, to me it was the Year of the Spider. I have an essay about these currents (written just a month or so before the 2012 solstice) at http://www.crossroads.wild.net.au/current13.htm Delving into Spider Magic more deeply again was enjoyable, including revising and expanding my book on the subject for republication next year (from Avalonia Press).

In terms of performancy, having a break from full-blown ritual theatre performances gave me an opportunity to focus on musical performances -still with a theatrical element of course, but it was great to focus on sound for a while again. Since returning to Australia this has developed further in my continuing musical rapport with drummer Amordios Gobblyn-Smyth, and I’m looking forward to some recording soon to attempt to get all this live magic down. With painting I’ve also made breakthroughs, especially in the last few months. After drawing intensively in b&w for the last 8 years colour has opened new vistas for me in 2013, perceptual shifts which extend beyond the canvases…

What album you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2013)?

Maybe King Crimson’s ‘Court of the Crimson King’. I recently rediscovered them (a favourite in my teens) and am blown away all over again. I love the dramatic contrasts, including in volume. Such contrast is rare in music these days, its all normalised for airplay etc. Either that or Coil’s Moon Music -so atmospheric.

What was the best cultural experience not related to music?

Seeing 100 or so of Beksinski’s original oil paintings in Poland. Mind-blowing! A close second would be a tie between Fulgur’s I:MAGE group Esoteric Art exhibition and related events (especially John Constable-Crow’s ’Spare’ solo play) in London (May), and the June Solstice Opening of ‘Going Back to the Roots’ esoteric art exhibition in Poland.

And best trip? Most beautiful or magic place you visited this year?

Hard to decide. A return to Delphi (Greece) was again stunning and profound, the way the temples work with the landscape -on an energetic as well as physical level- is incredible. And I had the good fortune of being based in beautiful Sintra, Portugal for a few moonths- a gorgeous old town at the base of the magical Mountain of the Moon. In terms of new places I hadn’t seen before, the small town of Bielska-Biala in Poland has some wonderful art nouveau architecture.

What was your greatest disappointment of 2013?

I’m pleased to say its hard to think of one. It was really a very satisfying year over all. A few travel difficulties, but they seem kind of trivial (in retrospect!) compared with the richness of the year’s experiences.

How bad the white goatskin with swan wings sewn on the back of it smelt for my last London gig was a bit disappointing too, especially when most of the crowd and the sound-engineer evacuated when I took the costume out of my bag. Luckily the organiser of the event (Transient Constellations) had bunches of incense and the venue had double back-doors.

Did you learn anything particular this year?

Not to believe what airport staff tell you about how long buses take to get you back to the airport from a stopover! How to use Loop pedals (well, I’ve started learning). How to really paint rather than just drawing in colour.

Plans, hopes, expectations for 2014?

Its going to be great. Several major projects culminating, which means there will be the opportunity for new seeds to be planted amidst the harvest! The launch of my final book in the fourfold alchemical Tela Quadrivium bookweb from Fulgur Press will see the conclusion of a cohesive cycle of artistic and magical work begun in 2006. I feel some major shifts in consciousness coming soon. Onwards…

http://www.crossroads.wild.net.au/

Leave a Reply

