2013 Through My Eyes: Gary Carey [Joy Of Life]

joy_of_life

How would you summarise this past year on artistic and personal level?

On an artistic level, 2013 saw Joy of Life return to the stage at Runes & Men which was our first live appearance since 2010. We were joined on stage by the Fanfahrenzug Leipziger, which is always a joy. Our line up also had a new member as Miro Snejdr joined us on accordion which brought a whole new dimension to our music. We are planning to do some recording in the new year if all goes well. On a personal level, I have experienced many highs and lows during 2013, but I wouldn’t want to bore your readers with the details…

What album you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2013)?

The album that I’ve listened the most during 2013 is ‘The Lone Descent’ by OTWATM. The album is a true classic and I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has not bought it yet!

What was the best cultural experience not related to music?

That is a difficult one, as I seem to have tied up with my everyday real life and haven’t had much chance to do much outside of work and home life. Most of my experiences this year are linked to music, so I’m at a loss to answer this question. Well unless you count a week in the Isle of Wight visiting old castles and buildings.

And best trip? Most beautiful or magic place you visited this year?

The most magical place I visited this year has to be The Villa Aganoor for the Villa Festival, where I performed with DWR. The village and lake were breathtakingly beautiful.

What was your greatest disappointment of 2013?

My biggest disappointment is that we failed do be more active musically. Hopefully we will put this to right in 2014!

Did you learn anything particular this year?

The main thing I learnt this year is that your health is not to be taken for granted….

Plans, hopes, expectations for 2014?

At the moment, the main plans are for more concerts in 2014. We have some in the pipeline that I hope to be able to announce early in 2014, but are open to offers should any promotors be reading this. Apart from that we will definitely be going back into the recording studio next year…. Finally!

Joy Of Life Facebook

Leave a comment