2013 Through My Eyes: Robin Storey [Rapoon]

rapoon

“Rapoon is the ethnic/ ambient project of British musician, composer and visual artist Robin Storey, also known from the pioneering industrial project Zoviet France, of which he was a founding member from 1979 to 1992. After he left Zoviet France Storey has presented an impressive amount of releases with Rapoon – in fact I believe the number exceeds 45-50 records – as well as pursued his studies and activities in visual arts and composition, and released some solo albums under his own name. He has gained a wide international acclaim with both his music and artistic endeavours, and continues to create in many different mediums, including soundtrack and theater composition. Rapoon however remains his main outlet, constantly producing high-quality releases.” [VITRIOL]

How would you summarise this past year on artistic and personal level?

This has been a particularly busy year for me with many concerts and lots of travel .At the beginning of the year I did not have much planned and enjoyed working on music without any pressure. I prefer this way of working.

On a personal level I have had reason to be thankful for Doctors and Nurses who have looked after my son who needed hospital treatment. I am truly grateful to them for such care.

What album you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2013)?

I don’t listen to much music but I return again and again to the beautiful voice of Alison Krauss. Such simple beauty…

What was the best cultural experience not related to music?

Watching Godard’s Bande a Part again in a cinema after not seeing it for maybe 30 years.

And best trip? Most beautiful or magic place you visited this year?

A beautiful place in France near Angouleme where I spend my summer holidays with my family.

What was your greatest disappointment of 2013?

I don’t know if had one?

Did you learn anything particular this year?

I learned to appreciate time off work more.

Plans, hopes, expectations for 2014?

More travel and more meeting great new people such as the lovely Portugese people I met at a festival in Czech Republic.

Official Website
Our “Disappeared Redux” review
Our “Seeds In The Tide vol. 1” review

Leave a Reply

