2013 Through My Eyes: David Wenngren [Library Tapes]

david_wenngren

“Library Tapes was formed in 2004 by David Wenngren and Per Jardsell. They did two albums togheter for the Resonant label before Per quit the band in 2006. In 2007 David released ”Höstluft”, an album consisting of solo piano and field recordings on Make Mine Music and in the same year he started working togheter with Danny Norbury and Peter Broderick. Danny played cello and saw on ”Sketches” and ”A summer beneath the trees” while Peter played many different instruments on”A summer beneath the trees” and on the ”Fragment” EP that was released in 2008 by Kning Disk.
In 2010 David released his fifth Library Tapes album “Like green grass against a blue sky” on his own label, Auetic. In the same year Auetic also re-released the two first Library Tapes albums. In the summer of 2012 the sixth Library Tapes album was released. It’s called “Sun peeking through” and features Julia Kent and Danny Norbury on cello and Sarah Kemp on violin. Besides Library Tapes David also makes music under his own name as well as Birch & Meadow.”
[Librarytapes.com]

How would you summarize this past year on artistic and personal level?

This year have been a bit different for me as I only did one live show (in Istanbul) so I’ve travelled a lot less than I normally do, and while I would have loved to see some new places and met some new amazing people this gave me the chance to work a little bit more on my music and I had four albums released during 2013 so it was a pretty exciting year after all.

What album you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2013)?

For the last couple of years I’ve been putting on shows here in Eskilstuna, Sweden, and earlier this year Burning Hearts came here to play, and I think their latest album called “Extinctions” must have been the album I’ve played the most during the year.

What was the best cultural experience not related to music?

I finally got around to watch “Breaking Bad”. I finished all 5 seasons in 3 days and it was 3 days well spent, to say the least.

And best trip? Most beautiful or magic place you visited this year?

As I said I didn’t travel much this year, and the best trip was actually a very short one. I went to Stockholm in August with my girlfriend to see Leonard Cohen and the concert was fantastic. He played for 3 hours, and to do so with the energy he did is pretty amazing considering he’s almost eighty years old.

What was your greatest disappointment of 2013?

I guess like the last few years the answer to this question would be the decline in physical sales. Like a lot of other people I find it very sad to see that so many people prefer to download or stream music rather than buying a physical copy of albums they like as this leads to less money for a lot of artists, labels, distributors and record shops.

Did you learn anyting particular this year?

Tons, I’m sure, however I can’t think of anything specific.

Plans, hopes, expectations for 2014?

I don’t have too much planned for next year yet, however I will be organizing 4 shows in the spring at the Eskilstuna Art Museum and I’ve already booked Sumie and Alice Boman for two of those dates which I’m very much looking forward to.

Library Tapes official website
Our “Sketches, Outtakes and Rarities” review
Our “Les Revenants” review

Leave a Reply

