2013 Through My Eyes: Egan Budd (Xiphoid Dementia)

xiphoid

“Xiphoid Dementia is the electronic music project of sound artist Egan Budd. Recordings began in 1999 and despite infrequent collaborations Xiphoid Dementia has remained a solo project. Xiphoid Dementia aims to create emotionally and visually charged soundscapes that affect the psyche of listener in both a conscious and subliminal nature. Compositions range from cerebral industrial to introspective drone and the many realms within.” [Existest.org]

How would you summarize this past year on artistic and personal level?

Personally and artistically this year has been a learning experience for me. At 32 I still have absolutely no idea what I want out of life but I feel like I have further discovered what I don’t want. I’ve paired down the amount of shows that I promote, although I love promoting and helping artists I found that I was just giving too much and my creative work was suffering from it. I’ve re-evaluated how I want my label to operate and I’m coming into 2014 with a renewed sense of vigor and purpose.

What album you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2013)?

All of my favorite music usually takes at least a year to really sink into my psyche. It’s probably because I listen to such a huge variety of music and barely listen to anything repetitively. So I’d have to give this one to Swans – The Seer. Such perfectly crafted anthems so as to present incredible memorable moments without being too taxing on catchy melodies so as to offer extreme repeated playability. Something that albums rarely do for me, especially albums crafted by ‘bands’.

What was the best cultural experience not related to music?

As I age I realize more and more how important family is even when they don’t share your exact beliefs/lifestyle. But that is fine when what binds you is blood which should be worth more than other aspects of modern life. So I would have to say seeing my family members getting married over the summer, being with them and appreciating these things we take for granted every day of our lives.

And best trip? Most beautiful or magic place you visited this year?

Most definitely Iceland. It’s a bit trendy to travel there from the U.S. right now but it was well worth the trip. In one day I experienced more than natural phenomenons than I had in my entire life until that point so it really blew my mind. I’ve never felt such an incredible spiritual connection to the natural world as I did there.

What was your greatest disappointment of 2013?

A failed relationship that fell apart at the end of the year. It’s ok because those are always a learning experience and the breakup is amicable. It’s always a pity when something you’ve put a lot of time and effort into fails though, so it’s tough.

Did you learn anyting particular this year?

I feel like I learned to say ‘no’. I am already stretched so far apart in my various interests that I have to be able to turn down offers for my services and that includes booking shows, helping others on their projects, and even side projects of my own.

Plans, hopes, expectations for 2014?

Just to live life as freely as I can while at the same time increasing my focus and dedication to the activities and people I love.

Official website
Our “Secular Hymns’ review

Leave a Reply

