2013 Through My Eyes: Christopher Gurney [IIOIOIOII]

ioioioi

“A solo project, IIOIOIOII takes on lush soundscapes and heavy melodic elements and combines them with hard hitting beats and distorted sounds. Together with gritty vocals IIOIOIOII slams it all together to form a call to arms for all people who love alternative music.”

How would you summarize this past year on artistic and personal level?

It was a huge year for development both musically and personally. I wrote my album Sun which was a step out into the open for me since I decided to basically drop the wall and let everyone in. I lost some friends unfortunately but I met a ton of new and amazing people that I’m happy to call friends now. I feel like I’ve grown as an artist as well as an individual so I totally call this year a win.

What album you listened to most often this year (not necessarily released in 2013)?

I listened to a lot of music this past year. Some albums I probably listened to over 50 times but if I had to quantify what album got the most play it would probably be Sonoio’s album Red. If you want a perfect example of how to do minimalist electronic music that is the album to listen to. Mr Kitty – Life, Volt 9000 – Conopoly, and Skinny Puppy – Weapon got a lot of play this year too.

What was the best cultural experience not related to music?

I’m going to have to break the rule here a little. After getting signed with Juggernaut Music Group I’ve met and worked with people all over the world and I’ve had some of the best conversations seeing the differences and similarities in culture and social mentality.

And best trip? Most beautiful or magic place you visited this year?

I hate to disappoint but I barely left the city I live in this year. *laughs* It’s been a super busy 2013 for me and I haven’t had much time to go out and do things out of town. I’m hoping to rectify this in 2014.

What was your greatest disappointment of 2013?

Probably the US government and people. It’s been hard reading the news this year with how much is going on and how much worse it’s going to get.

Did you learn anyting particular this year?

I’ve learned a lot! *laughs* I’m of the mindset that if I have free time where I’m not working on music I should be learning something. I’ve bettered my understanding and skill with music production like mixing and mastering. I focused on teaching myself filming and photography to help with promotional material like music videos. I’m currently in the process of teaching myself lighting to prep for the day when I actually play live.

Plans, hopes, expectations for 2014?

My biggest hope for 2014 is to be able to do some live shows and I’m really hoping to be able to do some shows over in Europe. As for plans I’m mentally prepping to get back into the studio to start writing another album. I’m in talks with some really awesome people regarding some remix work and I’m really setting myself up for a very busy 2014. So keep a look out because I’m way too much of a busy body to let myself get complacent.

Rising Sky Bandcamp
Our “Reflect” review
Our “Rising Sky/Stardust” review
Our “Sun” review

Leave a Reply

